The Fate of Ala Mhigo: Anticipation for Stormblood

ZmAqWwXKMqqK6HKlXZ-V_yYsHg.jpg

As a long time Final Fantasy XIV playerI’ve had a lot of love and hate for the game over the years. It has been very enjoyable and aggravating but still I come back to it like a person in an abusive relationship. That doesn’t make the game sound enticing but for many it doesn’t matter at all. I have been playing since the launch of A Realm Reborn back in the summer of 2013. The story for me has never been the strongest as I am personally not a fan of the MMORPG genre and see the story as only existing to add on newer content as time goes by. The story becomes an ever-changing living thing in the world of the game and it becomes hard to follow, like a person starting The Walking Dead with season 3. Therefor the story in Final Fantasy XIV has never really been the reason why I play the game. The real reason why I play this game is because it’s one of the few games that I play with my friends, and partially because I like looking at all the amazing and detailed gear sets, adorable minions and epic mounts! I typically don’t like cooperating and working with others in video games and prefer rather to play puzzle games, fighters or just single player RPGs. Well, with this background into my experience with and reason for playing Final Fantasy XIV I suppose it’s about time I get to talking about my feelings in the last week prior to the early access launch of Stormblood.

I decided that I would subscribe again a few weeks prior to the launch to prepare myself and my character for the expansion ahead of us. Turns out I got really rusty after months of levelling random classes and then being unsubscribed. Back when Heavensward launched I still had not reached max level and completed all the story quests so I was stuck doing a mad dash to the Holy See of Ishgard. Before the last expansion I just playing catchup to all my friends but this time around I am prepared. I might not have the best gear but I am still set for what is to come. I wasn’t able to enjoy any story elements in the past because I had to just rush through it all to get caught up, but now I am ready for this and hope to actually pay attention to the goings on in this virtual world. Now I’ve been trying to play catchup with the story in the lead up to Stormblood and it has somewhat piqued my interest. My knowledge and understanding of the inner workings of Eorzea is pretty weak but I’ve been trying to understand the history behind the conflict in Ala Mhigo and the reason behind the inclusion of all these new areas to the game. Hopefully the interaction with the Garleans will bring on some interesting new dungeons and bosses and primals.

Unlike many that are bursting at the seems with excitement for the new expansion, I am sitting here in quiet anticipation hoping that for once in the 4 years that I have been playing Final Fantasy XIV that I will be able to fully experience and enjoy both the gameplay and the story of Stormblood. I might not have all the information or the best knowledge of the story but now I truly want to see and understand what happened all those years ago in the Sixth Astral Age that lead to so many leaving Ala Mhigo for the lands of the original game. But of course, SAMURAI AND RED MAGE! 

At the start of Heavensward I was still playing catchup and couldn’t really experience the new jobs that were introduced with the expansion. This time around I am ready and I plan to play both as soon as possible. I still though will be focusing on getting my main two classes up to max level before I fully commit to either Samurai or Red Mage. I won’t really know how it’ll all work out though until launch. At this time I am still planning out a course of action but nothing is set in stone quite yet.

If you play Final Fantasy XIV and are excited for the arrival of Stormblood please comment below with your thoughts. What are you looking forward to the most?

Leave a Reply

